Skip to content
August 14, 2011 / la otra Mexicana

The Spiritual Side Effects of Trying to Make Coffee in Mexico

I wake up in the morning, put on the coffee, feed the cats, go back to bed and snuggle in with my perfect cup of cafe au lait, and wait till my eyes open. Everyone knows this. That is why my ear friends at Las Embajadoras, here in Guanajuato, store my coffee maker, and mug. So I can contineu my morning wake up routine, minus the kitties who remain in NYC. So, I forgot to bring coffee this trip. No problem. I walked down the the unbeatable Cafe Tal on Tuesday morning to buy a half a kilo of their very best. Oh, oh, coffee filters? Well, none of the small stores in this area carry such a thing. It took me until Friday to get to the Mega – the monster supermarket I would have died for when I lived here – they have everything! So, I found the right size Melitta coffee filters, at precio de exportacion of course. I went to bed happy Friday night contemplating my cup of Cafe Ole in the morning. After a good night’s sleep, I woke up stretching, smiling, reaching for the light switch…oh,oh..no electricity!!! I laughed so hard. Dona Cata had told me that the electricity would be turned off between 5 am and 11 am, but in the delicious anticipation of coffee in bed, I had forgotten. So, once again, Mexico reminds me that I am not in control. The only thing to do is laugh.

(BUT, this morning, I had my coffee!)

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ashley's Dad / Aug 15 2011 2:24 am

    What, no Starbucks?

    Just kidding. A great post from by a great lady who deserves all of the cafe ole she can drink.

  2. Dana Catharine / Aug 15 2011 3:45 am

    There is actually a hidden Starbuck’s in the Jardin! But without that morning coffee, I can’t find anything!!

Leave a Reply

